Thursday 17 August 2017

Gold Award Ceremony 2017 - A brief note

This year's Gold Award Ceremony was organised on 20th July 2017 at the India International Centre, New Delhi. The National Award Authority (NAA) took immense pride in felicitating the Gold Award Holders, Award Leaders and Volunteers. This Gold Award ceremony is dedicated to appreciating the milestones and the commitment of each participant. The day was dedicated to celebrate, enjoy and cherish their achievements with friends, family and the IAYP team.

This year the National Award Authority was privileged to invite Dr Vivek Raghavan, Chief Technology Officer, Team Indus as the Chief Guest and Sue Walker, Asia Pacific Regional Director of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award, who graced the occasion with their presence.

The host and compere for the ceremony was Ranjana Rai, Award Leader and Member of the National Training Panel, who kept the audience engaged with her lively exchanges. She commenced the Gold Award Ceremony by welcoming the Chief Guest and all the Awardees, Award Leaders and Parents. Mr. Kapil Bhalla, National Director, had the privilege to welcome the Chief Guest Dr. Vivek Raghavan, Regional Director Asia Pacific Sue Walker, Himmat Kalsia (Chairman, APF), Dr. Sanat Kaul (Managing Trustee, APF), Vinay Sheel Oberoi (Member Trustee) and Vice Admiral SP Govil (Retd.) Former Trustee and National Chairman. This welcome address was followed by honouring the school principals who were there to grace the occasion. Mr Bhalla welcomed and congratulated Naina Lakhanpal, Principal, Him Academy, Vikas Nagar, Hamirpur; Dr R. D. Thakur, Principal, K.C. Public School, Jammu; Vivek Gautam, Principal, OP Jindal School, Raigarh; Skand Bali, Principal, G D Goenka World School, Gurugram; Major General TPS Waraich, Director, Yadavindra Public School, Mohali; Vikaram Singh, Bursar, Yadavindra Public School, Patiala; Jorawar Singh, Principal, Cambridge International School, Phagwara; Aditya Kumar Sharma, Principal, SYNA International School, Katni and Wing Cdr Ranjit Kumar Mandal for their invaluable support and contribution to the Award Programme, and presented them the Friendship Badge.

A variety of entertainment performances were presented by Award Participants, commencing with a group dance by Award participants of ISPG sponsored Special Project at Sri Sarada Math, Baladband, West Bengal. This was followed by a solo classical dance performance by Shubhangee Goel, Award Participant from Delhi Public School, NTPC Vidyut Nagar.

Sharing some of the memorable and life transforming moments from the diaries of Gold Awardees, which will inspire the Gold Award achievers, is another important event, and Pallavi Gill and Md Imran, both Gold Award Holders, who are representing India at the International Gold Event, 2017 to be held from 25th October – 30th October 2017 at Prague, Czech Republic shared their life transforming experiences with the house.

National Director Kapil Bhalla addressed the audience, sharing information of the progress of the Award. He outlined future plans that have been designed to spread the Award Programme to untouched areas of the country. Kapil Bhalla also highlighted the achievements of the Gender Diversity and Empowerment Project run by IAYP India under ISPG Grant.

The National Director's speech was followed by the Award Presentation Ceremony where the Chief Guest Dr Vivek Raghavan handed the Gold Certificates to the participants while Sue Walker honoured a select group of Award Leaders with Special and Voluntary Service Meritorious Certificates.

The Chief Guest, in his speech, congratulated all the Awardees and Award Leaders for their success. Sharing some life experiences, the story behind participating in Google Lunar X Prize, and other details about #harindiankamoonshot with the audience.

The Gold Award Holders of Sri Sarada Math presented Rakhi to the guests. These Rakhis were made by the participants under the Skill Development programme of ISPG sponsored Gender Diversity Empowerment Project at Sri Sarada Math, Baladband, West Bengal.

Himmat Kalsia, Chairman, APF proposed the Vote of Thanks at the end of the ceremony.

The IAYP thank the Chief Guest, Regional Director, Award Holders, Award Leaders, Principals, Parents, Guardians and our Trustees for being there to make this Gold Award Ceremony a success. For Gold Award Ceremony pictures, please click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.