Tuesday 20 October 2009

HRH in New Delhi

Sir Richard Stagg, the British High Commissioner in India, hosted a small dinner on Monday 12 October2009, for HRH the Earl of Wessex (Prince Edward) KG KCVO in his capacity as Chairman of the International Council and Trustee of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award International Association. The purpose of the dinner was to allow him to talk about the awards and in particular their future in India. The dinner was a small one for very few select guests.

HRH set the tone by introducing the Award to the captains of the Indian industry, and explained how the business can benefit by partnering with the Award Programme. HRH thanked JCB India for their support to the Award in India and Mrs. Naina Lal Kidwai (Chair, Board Of Trustees, Award Programme Foundation, India & GGM & Country Head, India, HSBC Ltd.) explained how HSBC has now made the Award an integral part of for their young BPO and general staff, the Award will be offered to near 4000 individuals in the HSBC corporate set up.

Vice Admiral Suren Govil, National Chairman, International Award for Young People; has been the key driver of the Award Programme in India for near a decade and a half and emphasised the need for the Special Projects, and how the Award works for social inclusion in India. Jyotsna Govil (senior member of the Governing Council of IAYP, India), who has successfully produced the Award India newsletter for near 13 years, emphasised on the human face of the programme.

Sandeep Dutt, was introduced as the National Director to the august gathering that included Mr Chandrakant K Birla (Chairman Hindustan Motors Ltd, Mr Rajiv Kapoor (Executive Vice President - JCB), Dr Peter Mclaughlin (Headmaster The Doon School), Mr Sunil Kant Munjal (Managing Director/Chairman Hero Corporate Services Ltd), Mr Atul Punj (Ex-Chairman Punj Lloyd Ltd), Mr Ashok J Rabheru (Chairman Genysis Group & Trustee of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award), Dr Analjit Singh (Chairman Max Healthcare India Ltd.) and Mr K P Singh (Chairman DLF).

Utkarsh Ahuja one young Gold Award holder was invited to cover the event as the official photographer and did the Award family proud. The four Zonal Chairpersons of in India; Mrs Lata Vaidyanathan, Mr. Carl Laurie, Mr. Sourajit Palchoudhuri and Mrs. Margarette Davidraj were also present. The honoured guests appreciated the spirit of the programme and how it equips the young for life. A very warm evening, which ended with the keen commitment to build the Award Programme and reach out to near half a million young people in the near future.

Sunday 11 October 2009

Enroll Online

How to get enrolled from the Open Award Centre?

For individual Entrants, who have no access to a school / college / other Award Unit; the enrolment takes place at the Open Award Centre (OAC) or the National Award Authority Office.


• STEP 1

Fill the form and submit that along with 03 photographs and registration fee of Rs. 500.00 ( Rupees five hundred only), by a bank draft payable to "IAYP INDIA" at New Delhi, or pay online.


• STEP 2

Get your Starter pack comprising of a Record Book and a diary from the Open Award Centre.
• STEP 3

Start your activities for Service, Skill, Physical recreation, Expedition and Residential Project (for Gold only) under the guidance of your OAC approved Award Leader / guide / mentor / Assessor.

• STEP 4

Record your activities in a diary. An Entrant completes the Award with the help of an instructor and an assessor, who must be aware of the Award Programme and in direct communication with the Open Award Centre.

• STEP 5

Submit your Record Books and Diaries to the Open Award Centre for assessment. On due completion and compliance of the programme needs, the National Award Office will authorise the Award on Record Books.

• STEP 6

Clear all your dues, if any (like registration fee, Service charges and expedition charges etc).

• STEP 7

Get your Award Certificate and badge individually or in an Award presentation ceremony held once in a year and be recognized.

To enroll online you must be over 18 years of Age. For participants below the age of 18; only Guardians / Parents can apply. The participation is at the sole discretion of the National Award Authority, and the enrolment fee is NON REFUNDABLE.
Online payment will be reflected as payment made to www.bookcafe.in

Sunday 4 October 2009

Capacity Building & Training Workshop (CBT), New Delhi India, 9-11 October 2009

Participants List

A R Parmeswaran
P A Srinivasan
R Elangovan
M Singarayan
Suma Kuttiapan
Darshana Dahiya
Naval Singh
P P Vermani
Madhulika Bakshi
Usha Bhalla
Bishakha Banerjee
Chirantan Bhaduri
Kalyani Chakraborty
Kuntak Gupta
Dr. Tapti Dasgupta
Leon Blaise Pereira
Parag Fatehpuria
Fernandez Rita
Alok Virmani
Juzer A Shaikhally
Ratuli Chakraborty

Bhagirathy Jhingran


Friday 9th October
11.00 AM to 12.30 PM
Arrivals (check-in from noon) - Accommodation Venue (Sri Aurobindo Ashram)
1.00 – 2.00 PM Informal Lunch – at  Training Venue (Sri Aurobindo Society, Shaheed Jeet Singh Marg)
2.00 - 6.00 PM Training Sessions
8.00 PM Welcome dinner – at ESSEX FARMS

Saturday 10th October
9.00 to 4.00 PM Training Sessions
Evening Free time (Visit Delhi Haat / Saket City Walk)
Sunday 11th October
9.00 to 4.00 PM Training Sessions
Evening departures

Detailed programme has been sent to individual participants, along with the Welcome Dinner invitation.

Sandeep Dutt
National Director